Services We Provide
The Town Clerk's office is often noted as the center of town government. It is the office where a lot of activities occur in serving the residents. Just a few of the services the Town Clerk office offers are listed below:
Fireworks Display Permit;
Freedom of Information Request;
Genealogical Search Information;
Hunting & Fishing Licenses;
Solicitor or Peddler Permit Application;
Tax Collection:Town/County & School
Forms BC2, BC2A, BC2B for Bingo Applications and Forms GC2, GC2A, GC2B for Games of Chance are available, as well as registration and instructions for Identification number.
No blood test required. Law repealed 8/1/1985. You must obtain your marriage license at least 24 hours before your wedding ceremony. Your marriage license is good for a period of no longer than 60 days. The License is valid in NYS only. Both parties must apply together, in person, for a license. You must show identification - driver's license plus birth certificate, or passport.
If either party is divorced or if a marriage is annulled, certified copies must be presented as proof of such. The cost of a marriage license is $40.00 (effective 8/1/2003) which is a New York State fee. Anyone applying for a marriage license who is 16 or 17 years of age, needs consent of both parents (form available in Town Clerk's Office) unless one parent has Legal custody. In the case of legal custody, that parent must bring in the legal decree proving such.
Marriage Records Information (In order to obtain a certified copy of marriage certificate)
The certificate may only be obtained through the city or town where the couple APPLIED for the marriage license. Marriage certificates are $10.00 per copy. Before receiving a certificate, a request form must be filled out and submitted to the Registrar at the Town Clerk's Office and the requesting party must present proof of identity.
Only the Bride/Groom, legal representative or anyone who can demonstrate a legal claim can obtain a certified copy.
Send completed form, along with proof of identity, notarized signature if done by mail, and a check made out to the "Eden Town Clerk" in the amount of $10.00.
Dog licenses can be obtained by mail or in person. Proof of rabies and neutering or spaying certificate from your veterinarian must be presented (these records will be returned to you with the license). The fee is $13.00 for standard or $5.00 if the dog is spayed or neutered. Dog licenses must be renewed yearly. All dogs must be licensed after 4 months of age.
-View Hunter Training Class dates on-line
A valid NYS Drivers License is required as proof of residency. Mandatory Hunter Education: A hunter education course is required for persons who cannot provide proof that they have ever possessed a hunting license.
The general course is a minimum of 10 hours in length. DEC honors hunter education certificates and sporting licenses from all other states and countries. Minors under the age of 12 may not obtain a hunting license or hunt wildlife. Back tags must be visibly displayed on the middle of your back while hunting.
Additional information is available online at www.dec.ny.gov
Under the provisions of the New York State Freedom of Information Law, Article 6 of the Public Officers Law, you are entitled to request records or portions thereof for public documents that are within the Eden Town Hall. There is a fee of $.25 per page not to exceed the monetary limit you designate on your request application to cover the copying and request service.
The certificate may only be obtained from the city, town or village in which the event took place. The requesting individual must be the individual or a first degree relative to the named individual, an attorney for the individual or estate, or possess power of attorney and show proof of such. Certified birth certificates are $10.00 per copy. Before receiving a certificate, a request form must be filled out at the Town Clerk's office and the requesting party must present proof of identity.
Send completed form, along with proof of identity and relation to the individual, And a check made out to the Eden Town Clerk in the amount of $10.00.
The certificate may be obtained through the city, town or village in which the event took place. The requesting party must be a first degree relative to the named individual, an attorney for the individual or the executor/trix of the estate and show proof of such. Certified Death certificates are $10.00 per copy. Before receiving a death certificate a request form must be filled out at the Town Clerk's office and the requesting party must present proof of identity.
Send completed form, along with proof of identity and relation to the individual, and a check made out to the Eden Town Clerk in the amount of $10.00.
Genealogical search services may be conducted through the Town Clerk's Office for those records filed with the Town of Eden from 1883 to present.
The Town of Eden Tax Department is located in the Town Clerk's Office. This department is responsible for the collection of the Town/County and the School taxes for the respective school district (Eden, Boston, North Collins, and Concord), which are located within the town. The Town/County taxes are typically due on March 15th and the School Taxes are due on October 15th each year. Payable by cash, check or credit card. Payment online at www.edenny.gov - fees apply.
Delinquent taxes - call Erie County Tax Dept. at 858-8333 or contact at www.ERIE.GOV/ECRPTS
Change of address
Change of escrow account information